Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Despite the constant fluctuation within the education system, the professionals in education all hold a common goal: maximizing students' knowledge and helping them to reach to their full potentials. There is a general trend, at least in the United States universities, that letting students work in more group assignments with peers can generate more learning potentials. This ideology has also become increasingly promising in other developing countries, and is on its way to become ubiquitous in the entire college education system. The prompt above corroborates this idea and argue that students are vital to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal. In my option, despite the increasing global recognition of this trend, I believe groups assignments should not replace a significant amount of traditional lecture-based courses in universities for three reasons.

To begin, traditional courses in universities are mostly taught with professors who possess a degree in secondary education, who are more qualified as an instructors than the students who work with each other for a group project. Thus, it is reasonable to argue that students can benefit more from knowledge disseminated by professors than their peers. Additionally, a traditional lecture offers more organization, which contributes to easier learning experiences. For instances, in a traditional lecture-based course, a knowledgeable professor needs to thoroughly prepares for the class agenda, plan out each quizzes and assignments, and provide sufficient feedback on students' performance. By participating in multiple lectures in this matter, students can expose themselves to a variety of topic in great depth by erudite professionals, which naturally enriches the learning experiences. On the other hand, if students often work only with other students, even though there are more direct communications, they are simply interacting with people who possess similar knowledge, which does not foster enough critical thinking and in-depth analysis of the topic. The above example illustrates that group assignments do not compose the high-end quality traditional lectures possess, and therefore, they shouldn't be replacing a substantial amount of lecture-based courses in college.

Furthermore, even if we assume that working as groups will generate sufficient knowledge about a topic, this style of learning shouldn't be the majority in colleges because team-working skills are not as vital as other skills that could be acquired in college. Most job employers are seeking applicants with specific knowledge that would benefit directly to their task. For instance, if one wishes to apply to a company that invest heavily in designing AI, applicants who demonstrates a above average coding skills and knowledge are always preferred as they can directly contribute to the company. If one wishes to apply to a doctorate program in psychology, in-depth understanding of the current literature is always the highlight in their personal statements and what advisors are looking for. Thus, although team working abilities are a virtue that employers prefer, they are no match compared other hard skills one can acquire in college through traditional lecture-based instruction.

Of course, some argue that participating in more group projects engender more ecological value. Since most jobs requires interacting with others on a day to day basis, shouldn't students focus more on this aspect in college to build a great foundation? In my opinion, while knowing how to collaborating with peers to work on common topics make one a better team player, college should ideally be the place where students acquire knowledge and work on internal development. Once people are working in the field, there will be less opportunities learn from professional instructors, let alone interacting with them on a daily basis. It is only reasonable to take full advantages to learn from the best during precise time during college!