A nation should require all of his students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement is a bit too strong: it is not necessarily wrong to want that students don't choose right away their career, but there are too many variables to pretend that everyone follows this rule, so it's impossible to accept it as it is. In fact, I quite disagree with this recommendation, and I think that in many cases it would be better to let students choose their future.

First of all, many children show their talents and their interests even when they're young. If they have to follow a strict national curriculum for years, they won't enjoy what they like most. Let's take as example Mozart: he was one of the most gifted musicians of the history, and since young age he was very skilled. If he had to attend a school in which music is not so important, then he wouldn't have had the opportunity to express himself and be so prolificuos.

Another problem is that there are some children that have disabilities; this sometimes can lead them to difficulties in following the pace of the rest of the class. During highschool there were a few of students who had this problem, and they all had someone to assist them and the school provided a different program. In this way they could give their best, without feeling that everyone was bettere than them. One of this guys was even able to get in the first twenty students of a school physics test!

Of course there are some reasons to want to impose a standard curriculum, and probably the most important one is that often children (and their parents, too) aren't wise enough to understand what is the best thing for the child, and may follow the wrong way. If the State gives them the right indications, many young students will eventually thank it for not allowing them to attend the wrong classes.

Moreover, the program can be changed over the years, influenced by the change of market. In fact, the governent knows better than anyone else what are the sectors that one day will be needed and thus will be the ones in which there will be more hirings, so the program will prepare the students so that there will be an increase of children who will attend the courses relative to that sector. For example in these days one of the most requested job is the engineer. The government could increase the amount of math and physics taught at school so that once the students go to college they will surely have enough knowledge to give their best at engineering courses.

But there is another factor to consider. A national curriculum can't cover all different branches of knowledge in a satisfying way. This means that some students, once starting the colledge, may not have the right background to do well, and this won't be their fault. How could they do well if nobody ever teached them the basics of that argument? It's like when someone who went for a more humanitarian highschool wants to attend a scientific faculty at university. Of course some of them may make it and get the degree, but there's plenty of them who struggle and in the end surrender and end their studies without success.

In the end, it is true that having a common program for the students has some advantages, but it is obvious that not all students can fit in the same curriculum, so the government should allow different students to follow different programs, giving some guidance to the families to choose the best option.