A nation should require all if its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Using a national curriculum has been an idea the education system has contemplated with for several years. As some states choose to adopt the common core standards and others do not, this leads to a controversial ideal that as a nation we should require a national curriculum. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Looking towards two ideals would give us a position on whether or not it would be advantageous to adopt the recommendation.

To begin, requiring students to all study the same national curriculum until they enter college, would academically “even the playing field” for students. If we are all learning the same curriculum, we are all at the same baseline with our knowledge prior to college. An example of this could be shown in states that choose to adopt the common core standards and states that do not. States that have adopted the common core are all working towards the same standards in different curriculum areas, thus are all on the same “playing field.” States that do not adopt the common core, can have standards they will are fit for them. What if a state chose not to teach algebra? As algebra is a common subject on the SAT, those students will not be on the same page as the students who had algebra with the common core. This ideal would lead to the agreement of the suggestion that as a nation we should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum.

Secondly, all factors need to be taken into consideration if we are asking the nation to all study the same curriculum. One of these factors is considering if there is equal access for everyone. As a nation we have areas that are in more of an economic disadvantage than others. This could lead to hiring teachers that aren’t credentialed, even with the same curriculum, would it be taught in the same way? Are there parts of the curriculum that are online? If so, in an economically disadvantaged area may not have access. When considering if using the same national curriculum would truly be the same, is one of the many questions that arises with this recommendation.

This issue proves to many factors that need to be considered as this is a complex idea. There is not a black and white answer or a clear cut yes or no when deliberating if a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.