a nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The speaker says that a nation require all its student to study the same curriculum up to a certain level i.e. before joining the college. I agree with the speaker . This has a lot of benefits , on the other hand it has certain disadvantage also. By saying the same national curriculum the speaker mean that the students should be taught same subjects with same courseware through out the country.

Firstly, it will help students in overall development of their knowledge. suppose a student is narrowed to a few general subjects only. This will keep their point of view on some general topic very narrow . On the other if the student has wide knowledge of different subjects, the guy has more comprehensive opinion about a particular topic. Take an example , suppose a child has never been taught history , the subject he knows is science only and there is a particular debate on research being done in past, going on and the debators are arguing about the type of conditions that prevail in ancient time & its influence on people (for eg. people were so dominating they don't believe einstein at that time) and comparing it with the todays condition . Then the child doesnot understand the whole thing with much comprehension on the flip side, a child with the knowledge of science and history both can comprehend the situation better.

Secondly, a curriculum covering many subjects will help a student decide his interest . Take the example of this enterpreneur bill gates , he has failed in a lot of subjects in school. Has he not been introduced to the computers ,The world would have never seen such a big tech giant and philantropist ever. So introduction to various subjects help one in finding his interest, otherwise one will always be doing what he never liked.

On the other hand common school curriculum do bad with those who has some interest in stuff other than studies. suppose someone has interest in music . So, he is just wasting his time in studying maths in school as this subject has no relevance to his interest. But still some amount moral lessons should be required in every field which should be taught to everyone commonly.

Hence this common curriculum is like a double edged sword. It is good for those who can find their interest in studies whereas it do little good to those who like stuff other than educational subjects like sports music etc.