A nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

'One Nation - One Curriculum' - This statement states that all the schools in the country should follow the same curriculum and same syllabus. This statement should be made by keeping in mind the fact that countries like India or the US has a large number of students. Due to that, there are also a very high number of educational institutions that offer schooling up to 12th grade. If followed the same syllabus nationwide, a number of positive and negative points follow it.

First of all, if a same curriculum is followed all around the nation, it would be easy for students to prepare for the entrance exams that follow after school; i.e exams for admissions into college. Currently, there are lots of entrance exams that are being held all around the nation just due to the fact that there are a variety of curriculums being followed. Students whose curriculum do not match the syllabus of any entrance exam, have to prepare separately for that particular test. This would not happen in case of a single curriculum.

There are numerous schools that offer a variety of curriculums based on a students interest. Such schools have different fees structure for different curriculums. Multiple such instances in the past have been recorded where a barrier is created between students of different curriculums. From the very start of their childhood they have seeds of discrimination sown into them. These, in turn, affect their future. Such instances can be seen as negative points of having varied curriculum and positive things if a single curriculum is made effective.

Every coin has two sides. In the same way, every point has its own advantages and disadvantages. Currently, there are a number of different curriculums being followed in different schools around the country. These curriculums can be differentiated based on the vastness and difficulties in the syllabus. For example in a country like India, there are majorly two centralised syllabuses i.e CBSE and ICSE, adding to this, each state has its own curriculum to be followed. It is a widespread belief that national level curriculum is difficult when compared to state level curriculums.

There are a number of reasons why students opt for an easier curriculums when compared to a tougher one. Not everyone has the capability to cope up with the harsh syllabus. Many a times students find it difficult to even score in the easiest of syllabus; pertaining to the fact that they excel in other fields like sports or arts. So, for such students, it is very necessary to have varied syllabus and they would face difficulty if they are exposed to a single common curriculum; based on the fact that the common syllabus would be of average difficulty.

In the end, having different curriculums or a single common curriculum is not important. What is important is what the students learn from it. What is important is what role is a particular curriculum playing in the development of a child. Everything in this world has its own positive and negative sides. In the same way, having a single common curriculum also has its own advantages and disadvantages. From the above passage, it can be concluded that if a nation follows the same national curriculum it would both be beneficial and disadvantageous for the students.