A nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum until they proceed to college

The importance of education to the progress of a society and nation countries cannot be over emphasized. An educated society is a civilised society as it will employ its citizenry in the development of technologies that will address her problems. Such problems are peculiar to that nation state and so no one will resolve it on their behalf. This testifies to the statement of one of heroes of democracy in Nigeria "No one will blow your trumpets for you because others are busy blowing theirs"

I will like to define key terms before plunging into the realms of this topic. A nation simply refers to a group of people or a specific geographical piece of land with a common language and unified government. A curriculum is a set of instruction and materials meant to be used in teaching a specific class of students. Meanwhile, a national curriculum means curriculum meant for a particular nation.

Consequently, students implied from the topic includes high school students and those that are below this level. Adoption of a national curriculum is imperative to the progress of a nation.

Firstly, a national curriculum allows the incorporation of the ideas and culture of a nation in such curriculum. This engender a patriotic spirit in the students at a tractable age without becoming a jingoist. Such students will learn the rich culture of their nation and be proud of it. For example, imagine if biology is taught in the native language of the nation, students will understand the botanical names better and appreciate the fauna and flora present in their nation water bodies better. This ultimately, will improve their performance even if they have to write in the official language in an examination.

Furthermore, a national curriculum when adopted can stem the tide of brain drain, a canker-worm for most developing countries in Africa, Asia and other parts of the world. Such a curriculum allows the students to identify the most pressing problem of the nation and means of resolving it. It will not be surprising if such student grow up to pursue a graduate degree in order to resolve this salient problem

Moreover, the status of the country or nation will be improved if her students were taught with a national curriculum , as this makes them unique and compete favourably with other countries. Finland is practical example of this.

In addition, a regional competition and state sponsored competition can be organised without being biased to some categories of students from a particular part of the country. On the other hand, colleges can fairly grade the students as they are all exposed to the same instructional material before applying for an undergraduate course.

In conclusion, a nationally adopted curriculum will facilitate the progress of a country, anything otherwise will be imprudent and unwise at this age.