A nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they go to college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning in the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The idea that a unified national curriculum for all the students of the nation is necessary is highly subjective and must require proper scrutiny before implementation. If we have a look at the developing nations, in some ways it is extremely necessary and in some ways not so much.

Consider a diverse nation like India. India is a country encompassed by more than a thousand languages and people belonging to different cultures. It is extremely difficult for a person from any Indian village, to pursue his/her career after graduating from high schools, due to lack of proper education and most importantly due to the language barrier. The teaching material in schools at villages is generally based on regional languages. This is done, so that the students understand the concepts quickly and easily, which is right in their own sense. But, most of the quality scholarship that exists at the undergraduate level, is professed in English. This means unless the students are made to understand English right from the beginning of their school days, they will not have access to proper quality education which will indirectly affect their dreams and increase overall unemployment for the nation. Language sometimes divides nations in a way that renders proliferation of knowledge impossible and hence hinders their growth. Hence when it comes to language, it is extremely necessary that a national curriculum is implemented and made compulsory encompassing all the major languages spoken by all.

In the sense of language education, the national curriculum is necessary but it is also necessary when it comes to basic science, history and geography lessons. All the students should not only be aware of the history of the nation they live in but also about what happened all over the world. In order to live and travel they must be aware of the geographical scenario of their nation in depth and that of the world too. Basic scientific knowledge is extremely necessary as it is a scientific inquiry that makes people aware of the stereotypes around the world and how they should not fall prey to them. Thus bare minimum basic knowledge of the world that we live in, is necessary for our very existence.

There are people who would disagree with this point of view and say that they would not want students to study what they don't want to study. But they should realize that its not a luxury, its a necessity to learn certain things about the world. A national curriculum would help make sure that all students at the same level of intellectual growth and are made aware of the political and environmental situation of the world they live in. This will not only help them become successful at their personal level but also help in shaping the future of this world that we live in.