A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The speaker asserts that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, insofar i agree with the speaker that the nation should do that if it wants to prosper in the long run.

Firstly, by imposing the same national curriculum, it is sure that every student has to read the same books, the same subjects carefully developed by the scholar of the nation. As an example the curriculum may include English, Maths, Social Studies, Physics, Chemistry and Biology subject. This subjects are the basics of any education system. If a student all that subject in the school they must build a solid basic knowledge for their later period in college. Because in college the higher education subjects are derivatives from this basic subjects. So, if they understand this basics very well they could do well in the college too. Students have better grasp and understanding for later study.

Secondly, by reading subject like Math, physics, chemistry etc will help a student to understand in which subject they want to study more. If someone like Physics in the school, she can choose quantum physics, astro physics or choose other subject which is root in physics. For instance, I liked biology a lot in my school, Then I decided that i would study in biology related subject in my college. Indeed i ended up studying Veterinary and animal science in my college.

However, maintaining the same national curriculum has a great risk too. Moreover, it can damage certain ethnic culture, linguistics of the country. Every states has its own culture, own value, some states has different language too. By imposing a homogenous curriculum can risk this diversity insofar.

But every good things has its bad side , so in my opinion studying under same curriculam would be helpfull for all.