a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The assertion that all the students of a nation must study the same national curriculum until they start their college is quite dogmatic unless other circumstances that might be created are considered. before taking any position in agreeing or disagreeing with the assertion, these circumstances must be evaluated.

Firstly, when a common national curriculum with the same subjects is imposed on any student without the option of choosing any subject considering his individual skill or weakness might creat a burden on the student. For example, a student in his high school might be extra-ordinary at mathematics but poor at memorizing geographical terms. Such student must be given the option to eliminate Geography from his curriculum and focus on skill-based subjects which require more calculation.

Secondly, before entering college, a student must know which field he would be attaining in his upcoming college education. if a student is preparing himself for entering the engineering field, he has nothing to do with literature related subjects in his high school curriculum. Similarly, a student interested in literature related field has no need to spend hours in solving Maths and Science in his high school days.

Finally, by the time a student is in his high school, he must have the capability to decide which majors he should be studying and which one to exclude from his curriculum. if the common national curriculum is the only requirement for the student, he would lack the opportunity to practice decision making skill in his young age which would make him inept in his college days.

In conclusion, following a common national curriculum for every student of the nation would not be beneficial for the nation unless optional subjects are included in it. students must have the freedom to choose their subjects according to their capability before entering college.