A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is known that people around the world feel that they are not fully prepared when it comes to college. Although, it may be different for others, and that all depends on how much preparation each student receives during their high school years. The prompt comes from the perspective that all students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this recommendation and argue that not all students are prepared for college for three reasons.

To begin, not all students have motivation to the same degree because of the type of teaching styles they come across. For example, not all teachers are passionate at what they do. Some are unwilling to go above and beyond in assisting students to their needs. Many students learn at a slower pace than others, and it's difficult to keep up when the teacher is not accommodating to every student. Sometimes, when students ask questions in class, teachers would respond in a way where it'll make the student feel guilty for asking a specific question. It gets uncomfortable for the student because when that happens, they're afraid of approaching the teacher further. It's crucial for a nation to require the same national curriculum that way all teachers are instructing the same concepts and all students are on the same pace.

Further, many public schools do not have enough funding compared to private schools. For instance, private schools offer a more variety of unique classes such as lab work that could be done at a university, film-making and more hands-on courses. This helps students gain more knowledge in other fields along with grasping ideas of what they're getting themselves into for college-leveled courses. Copious public schools to not offer relevant classes simply because they don't have enough funding; public schools are free to attend whereas it costs thousands of dollars to attend a private high school. It's unfair to families who aren't able to send their children to more developed schools. With having the same national curriculum, students from public schools would be able to experience the same degree of learning as students from private schools.

Finally, there are many aspects that students should be aware of before attending college. As a entering college student, people ruminate on the decision of their college major. It's a difficult choice to make because a lot of students are not aware of what's out there; they don't learn about all the possibilities in high school. This is why it's crucial to show high school students at least most of the majors they could encounter. It would be beneficial to present what is required to have a certain job in a related field.

Of course, one would argue that some students are indifferent about school and aren't looking into further higher education after high school. However, if the same national curriculum is implemented with the same level of teaching qualities, it would help open up students' mind throughout their high school career. With that support, students can change their mind and end up having the covet to continue their education. Otherwise, without the same curriculum, it would be easier for students to not follow along. In order for students to be prepared for college, the same national curriculum would be beneficial to their learning and motivation.