A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is the way of imparting knowledge and gaining skills. Formal education is one of many ways to serve this purpose. There has been debate among scholars on if a nation should made it mandatory for all of its students to study same syllabus until they enter college. The author of the prompt has stated that a nation should make it compulsory for all of its students to study same curriculum during their earlier age. I disagree with the author of the prompt. In fact, such compulsion will only degrade the quality of education and standard of student.

Firstly, if we make it compulsory for all students to study the same curriculum, the students will be forced to pursue subjects which they are never going to need in their career. For instance, why should a student intending to pursue his career in arts or history read the theories of quantum mechanics or even those of biology such as Mendel’s law of inheritance, and so on. It will only waste his time or even demotivate him. He may struggle and waste two to three years to complete those subjects which are unnecessary for his career. Instead, if he had opportunity to choose subject based on his future goal, he would definitely reach his goal earlier, and he might do very good in his field. So, requiring all the students to study the same national curriculum is no more than a burden to the students.

Secondly, the national curriculum is over generalized, and thus they fail to address the specific needs and capability of all the students. Some students are instinctively intelligent and may find it very easy to understand the depth of the curriculum. While, on the other hand, students who find it difficult to understand the very basics of the taught subjects, if have to go through same settings, and have to pursue same depth as that of the intelligent students, they may surely be demotivated and cannot excel in their career. So, students should be given liberty to choose the subject as per their interest and understanding rather than making it compulsory for them to study certain predetermined curriculum.

In conclusion, it may be tempting to believe that a nation forcing all its student to study same syllabus will bring homogeneity among the knowledge of students, and make the students' career bright and fruitful. However, rather than bringing homogeneity and helping students in developing their career, compelling them to study same course will only make them difficult to excel their intended career and also develop a deep schism in the level of knowledge among those who are intelligent and those who find it difficult to understand even the basic of the subject. Hence, a nation should enable the students to choose subjects based on their interest rather than forcing them a predetermined syllabus.