A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

Students spend close to 15 years of their initial years in school where they learn the most essential topics before entering college. The issue statement here proposes that in a nation, all students should be required to study the exact same coursework till they finish their school. I partly disagree with this statement and would put forward three examples to shape the same.

Firstly, students when enter school and complete close to one-fourth of their lives in the institution, the curriculum they follow there would form a base for them as individuals. An excellent yet common framework when established for all of them would really define how the majority of individuals of the country would shape towards. For instance, teaching about the catastrophe war has brought to humankind, the positives of having peace in the society and how to file your taxes, will make sure the citizens of that nation would turn out to be the ideal citizens every country wishes to have.

Secondly, on the other hand, when each individual goes through the common syllabus for a really long period of time, they would all want to take up similar courses during their college too. This would diminish the variety of areas these students will work towards and would strongly hinder the overall growth of the nation. Imagine 80% of the country's population working towards nuclear science research and merely 1% population in entertainment industry. Diversified course being taught from the very beginning would make sure every individual thinks through his/her life and defines the life they want to live.

For the third and last point, the law of natural selection plays an important role. A nation where students studied various topics and went on to pursue their own areas of interest will make sure when calamities hit, there would be plenty of individuals with the skills to make things right. For instance, a nation that focuses solely on engineering activities will lead to a large number of engineers. and there would be barely any people in medical field who would have to take care of the population when epidemics and pandemics strike. This could eradicate a large percentage of population of the nation.

One might argue that a common coursework will ensure the nation progresses towards the desired end goal but we must also keep in mind that it would decrease diversity of ideas that comes in. The more ideas coming in from different approaches, the higher is the chance of the nation to develop and improve. Although teaching the same curriculum for a vast period of time is advantageous, the disadvantageous outweigh them. This is a complex problem and there is no direct approach and answer to it.