A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A nations's education policy and curriculum have a huge effect on its students, who in turn will grow up to become adult citizens of the country and thus have a hand in the different social, economoic and milititary decisions of the country. Just as different kinds of leaders are required for governing various aspects of the country, students should also have a choice to pursue their subject of interest.

Elaborating on the point made above, a person with different expertise is required to run different departments of a government. For example, a person who has keen understanding of foreign relations and disputes is more suited to become the foreign minister of a country rather than a person who understands the nuances of economics, who would be more suitable as finance minister. Similarly, we cannot expect students who for expample have no interest of pursuing a career in a STEM field to study subjects like physics and mathematics dilligently. Instead a choice of electives could be offered to students from which they would only subjects that would be interested in.

A rigorous curriculum, could also cause some students to fail their classes or drop out completely because of their lack of aptitude for certain subjects. Failing in classes can also have a negative mental impact on children, who are especially vulnerable to metal disorders like depression and anxiety. Seeing their classmates do well in the same subjects that they were not able to get a grasp on, makes one lose their self-confidence. Having such mental issues at such an early age, can cause longterm effects in children.

However, while impractical to impose such a policy till a latter stage in their education like college, such a curriculum can be applied until the children are mature enough to make a practical decision. Little children who are still in their world of whims and fanatasies cannot make such crucial decisions, without first experiencing the the real world. A curriculum that is precisely designed for this task would do a lot better for the development of the nation and would thus be creating much more diverse indivduals.

It is therefore I believe that while imposing such a curriculum we would be cutting the wings of children, who perhaps wanted to do something different in life however, it is still quite practical to apply such a policy for a more younger age limit.