A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Having all students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college would be a great tool for nation building and homogeneity of knowledge, however, such a requirement would create a limited society which will hinder the creativity and maximisation of the potentials of those students. The aim of curriculums should be building students as future leaders. A streamlined or enforced curriculum would be inimical to the overall development of students.

Curriculum guides and structures the kind of lectures and learning a student engages in. It is quite important that at the early stage of learning, a child is introduced to as much bodies of knowledge as possible. For instance, in the Nigeria educational system, the primary school does this. All students takes the same subjects and the whole country uses the same curriculum. Hence students learn about Sciences from Basic Science, Arts from Social Studies and Fine Arts, Social Sciences from Home Economics, Quantitative Reasonings from Mathematics. This use of similar curriculum ensures that students are well groomed and possess basic knowledge of almost everything at the early stage of learning.

However, upon the last three years at the secondary school, distictions are made based on individual flair. As an individual, I have flair for sciences and mathematics. It will be counterproductive if I am required to study history and arts. Hence, most schools devise test to identify students strength. Base on the student strength, advices are given on what is best for the student. Ultimately, the choice is left for the child to decide on which fild he would love to focus on. This would achieve more as the child has become the architect of his future.

More So, there is a required body of knowledge that is expected for students to learn within a period of time. Requiring students to study using the same curriculum would overload the students with superfluous knowledge. Valuable time that could be spent on furthering areas of strength and flair would be wasted on other topics. Some might be of the opinion that no knowledge is a waste, this is quite true, however, not all bodies of knowledge are essential and required for development.

A balanced curriculum sits well with me. A curriculum that exposes students to basic body of knowledge while growing up, but at a set time, recognizes the flair and choices of the students. Such a curriculum would achieve more for the students and the society.