A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education holds a great significance in shaping the future citizens of a nation which in turn shapes the future of the nation. The author recommends that we introduce a uniform curriculum across the nation until its students enter college. I disagree with the recommendation for the following reasons.

Whether a nation wide uniform curriculum would work well depends largely on the social, cultural, and economic differences between different states or provinces within the country. In a diverse country such as India, where each state is a world on its own in terms of language, culture and social structures - a country wide uniform curriculum would fail pathetically to account for the richness of such diversity. It is essential for students to be well aware of their local history, traditions, and the rich heritage of the place. A curriculum that is customised for each state or province would impart such knowledge to the students.

One can not gainsay the fact that education has the potential to affect the political leanings of students. We can find myriad examples where the curriculum keeps changing based on the current governing party. A leftist ruling party might decide to teach more of the left ideologies in schools while a right wing party might do just the opposite. To have a uniform curriculum that is solely decided by the central government presents a huge advantage (to the extent of being unfair) and power to a single body which has greater risks of the power being misused whereas, a curriculum that varies according to each state has the potential to introduce students to different ideologies which in turn forms a good balanced mix of citizens with wider perspectives. The goal, however, is to have education as disjoint as possible from the ideologies of the current ruling party. Education should be about presenting unbiased and neutral views on matters and impart knowledge. But, one can never be sure that such unfair advantages and misuse of power will not happen. So, it would be a wise decision to not have such power reside with a single body.

Deciding on the curriculum is about choosing the relevant and appropriate knowledge that would serve the best in shaping good, responsible and well-informed future citizens. Since the nature of this relevant and appropriate knowledge varies based on the location, it would be better to have curriculum that accomodates such localised knowledge along with the knowledge that is relevant to the entirety of the nation and has a diverse curriculum that is not prejudiced or one-sided. A state