A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is pertinent to the growth of any nation. Kofi Annan once said that the best form of investment any nation can make is into the education of its citizens. Therefore, any nation that is concerned about its growth would pay extra attention to the educational affairs of the nation. The curriculum typically contains the topics and extent at which the topics are taught at different levels. Therefore, it is one of the best ways to measure and regulate the quality of an educational system.

The peculiarity of each child should be considered in every curriculum that is made. There is a popular saying that if we test a dog with activities of a monkey, we would leave the dog thinking it is useless. Therefore, a general curriculum till college would not only over labour students with courses that are not relevant to their future endeavors, thereby wasting resources meant for better use but would also bring down the morale of each child. In some schools in United States, students who have been identified as gifted, are often drafted into a different school to help them harness their students to the advancement of mankind. Subjecting such children to a general curriculum would kill their creativity and general interests in education.

Secondly, the essence of pre-college education is to help students identify their strengths. Barring major courses such as English, Mathematics and Civic Education, all other courses should be selected in a way to help the student prepare and gain knowledge about their interests and strengths. This is particularly important for students that are close to college; this is because it helps them familiarize themselves with the courses they would be taking in college and would offer them a foundation that they can use to perform excellently in college. In fact, some countries give their students the option of taking Advanced courses in high school, as they see it as a way of improving their knowledge even before college. This practice should be widely accepted and used as it is more productive in the long run.

In contrast, a general curriculum can be a way of standardizing the knowledge gained by each student at the end of high school. It would help to measure the amount of information that is expected from a student at a particular level. Therefore, in that way a standard curriculum is not a bad idea and should be implemented across different levels of education especially at the lower levels.

Conclusively, there are merits and demerits to a general national curriculum and they should be weighed properly before the decision is taken as it would have an effect on every child in the nation and the nation’s progress as a whole.