A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter College

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A country’s education system is the backbone which holds its future. The right for education and education curriculum compiled rightfully both are equally important. The national curriculum consists of subjects and courses which children are required to follow plays the most important role in their education. When compiling this national curriculum , the authorities must pay attention to needs of different children and address them differently.

Let’s take a simple example from an imaginary school held at a Jungle. If the Elephant has been offered a subject related to climbing up a tree and a monkey has been offered a subject related to swimming , what will happen to their respective minds? More over if the Fish was taught running instead of swimming what will be the consequence? All three will fail miserably in the subjects they were offered, they’re yet unaware of it, thus they’ll spend their whole life with imagination “I’m dumb”. Let’s substitute animals in this example with minds of children. Different children have diverse interests and skills. A student excels in Mathematics could be interested in art also however he might lack skills to memorize history or geography. In the same way, a student who outshines in Music could not have skills to excel in Science.

Hence the authorities who compiles the national curriculum of a coutry’s education system, must be sensitive to these subtle differences of children, which indeed needs to be treated carefully for all of them to flourish as complete human beings in the future. Different plants need different nutrients to grow, similarly different children needs to give weight on the unique subjects they’re more talented , in order to flourish.

In reality context it’s could be impractical to compose subjects which are unique to every different child. Thus one practical way forward should be to keep essential subjects like Essential languages, Basic Mathamatics, Religion, History , Geography etc in the curriculum however to give lower weight to them during assessments. In that way, the children gain knowledge however their future is not decided upon them. Parallelly the curriculum must have Unique subjects (example Music, Art, Sports, Technology, Computer science) for students to choose from which their unique skills can be nurtured. And they could be directed to their deserving career in long run.