A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

One of the various methods in which people get exposed to knowledge is through education. I cannot agree less with the common saying that education is key. The recommendation noted that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. this might be agreeable to an extent but otherwise, I disagree.

Firstly, it is agreeable that generalizing the curriculum would help ensure at least the average child is knowledgeable on his basic rules and right as a citizen. For instance, the basic curriculum would definitely contain major basic codes and conducts with the rights the citizen has thereby ensuring that everyone is knowledgeable. this instance would make the recommendation good.

this recommendation would also ensure that students receive equal levels of education which would make it easier for college faculty to select materials needed for the session. For example, there would be no need for lecturers to assume students are familiar with a topic that in actual sense, they do not know because they attended a substandard school. this example above makes the author's recommendation valid.

However, if this recommendation were accepted, the key purpose of education would be impaired. this is because the teachers would now be limited as to what they teach and then students would not be able to get other information outside the curriculum. I can also readily see certain educational programs being canceled so as not to go out of the scope of what is accepted at the national level.

Moreover, even if this recommendation is accepted, on whose decisions would the contents of the curriculum be based? is it on politicians who have little or no interest in their nation and can readily change the curriculum based on what they feel is right and not what is needed? or on the legislatives who have little or no knowledge about the entire curriculum needed for education.

In addition, having a generalized curriculum would bring about a stop to certain language subjects included at different states to promote their laguage. For instance, some schools in the south that teach southern languages and its core values would be prevented as a result so as not to go out of scope.

In conclusion, it is agreeable that this recommendation would ensure that the average citizen knows its right and core values however, it is a major impairment to education.