A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Public opinion has polarized on this issue that whether we should require all of the students in our nation to study the same courses or just let them do what they want (i. e. keep the courses diverse so that every student can enroll in their favorite courses) before they are to enter the college. Despite I generally agree with the government should restrain the pool of courses selected, it should not be carried to the extreme. Namely, the courses can be divided into several fields and each student can choose one of them other than the combination produced whole by themselves.

For starters, requiring all the students to take part in one portfolio of courses seems to be advantageous for resource arranging. Moreover, it can be truly convenient for the selection. For instance, the College Entrance Examination in China (as known as "gaokao") is unreplaceable at the status quo of this nation for deciding which parts of students should go to which colleges. However, it can be argued that this method seems to be an expeditient way for this country based on the developing status. In another word, if a developed country chooses to let every student learn the same things, it can be argued that this is a kind of dwindling governing, which means the officers in the government are doing in their comfortable circle.

In contrast, if we let the students choose what they want without any restains, there might be diversity outcoming from them and they can get streng in their shortcomings since they might like to fix it. However, the "gaokao" example should be raised again here since the development of China can explain clearly this status. For first time, China only divided students into two main fields, one contains physics, Chemistry, and Biology while the other contains Politics, History, and Geographic. This influences for several decades and achieves great impact. However, as China is developing at a great speed, the government is going to change this since the nation and people might benefit from the advantage of diversity. However, it gets into mud the first time based on the lack of resources, China is still a developing country that cannot afford the heavy expense of this diversity.

My opinion is to balance these two poles. Like the old ways deduced by China dividing into two fields, we can make a combination for the students to let them choose. It can not only arrange the resource effectively but also give the students diverse courses to choose from to satisfy their needs as large as possible.