A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Education is an indispensable criterion for the development of a nation. So, every nation should have a solid foundation of education system, at least up to the college level, for its people. But there was a long-time question remains whether the national curriculum should be same for all its students. I mostly disagree with the prompt mentioned above that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. There are basically two reasons behind it.

To begin, we should keep in mind that not all the students have the same talent, potential and skill in all subjects. So, isn’t it would be discriminating to judge all the students in same standards? For example, if a student get 95% marks on mathematics but fail to score the pass marks for english literature, should it be a good judgement to disallow him to promote to next standard? A student should be judge according to his ability in his particular interest. If not, eventually a significant number of students will lose their interest in study.

Secondly, what a nation needs is actually to have skilled workforce in every field who can row the hull of development of the nation. According to study, growth of the skilled workforce significantly dependent on the education system a nation offers. If the students are not affectionate to the curriculum, then they will loose the interest in academics.

Of course, the implementation of a distinct curriculum according to one’s interest will be a tough job. But it will be worthy enough to reduce the disaffection and eventually the percentage of drop out from the early education. So, that is why I disagree with the prompt.