A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that there should be uniform national curriculum in all the schools across the nation until a student enter the college. The claim may be appreciable in some of the small countries which has monolinguistic population. people in such countries share same culture and language which could be articulated into a single structure to be taught in schools. but, it will not be can be done in the large countries with diversified cultures and languages like India because culture, language as well as regional dialects change within a couple of miles. uniformising curriculum in such areas will not effectively meet the goal of education that is to empower its people to think and express their views for the well being of the society independently.

Advocates of the given claim may say that uniformising the curriculum will lead to better job opportunities across the nation, because, the evaluation of the students based on their educational background becomes easier as all of them have studied same courses. This may work in the countries with same culture across its borders and is already in effect in many such nations. but, implementing it in countries with diverse culture may prove to be a disaster. You may forcibly dilute the regional identities and it will be pernicious to both regional people as well as the nation. there is always a room to teach a common course across the nation like common language such as English to better equip its students but, uniformising every courses is not a good idea.

Moreover, there should always be flexibility in selection of the courses as every child does not have same analytical and cognitive skills. there may be few compulsory courses as is the case with many countries across the world but students should be allowed to think independently and enroll in the courses they like. implementation of such policy also has an additional problem of deciding the curriculum and fallacious decisions by the higher authority will prove to be calamitous and then, there would be no looking back from that point.

In conclusion, one may say that uniformising the curriculum across the borders may be a good idea and should be implement wherever it is feasible because it creates equitable population in terms of educational quality and quantity. but, imprudent implementation of such policy may prove disastrous in many large countries. So, the feasibility of the claim depends upon the characteristics of the region where it is applied.