A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The given argument is flawed in numerous ways. the argument is based of some unwarranted assumptions . The business manager assumes that the of number viewers have reduced because their program devotes more time to the national news and less time to weather and local news, and many such assumptions are made with no certain proof or explanation.

The claim made by the manager states that most of the complaints received by them were about their coverage in weather and local news but he does not mention the amount of complaints received by the viewers .It could be that the total number of complaints might have reduced and the ratio of the local and weather news related complaints are more. for instance if the company used to receive 50 complain among which 20 were about the local news and weather and now the total complaints could be 30 among which only 10 are local news related then the argument will completely fall apart.

Further the manager also assumes that the advertising contracts are being cancelled because of the amount of time devoted to the national and local news ,but provides no proof of this being the reason . the advertising company might have cancelled because of the increase in the news channel companies prices to broadcast their ads or may be they might not want to advertise on te news channel at all. the argument would have been stronger if the manager would the advertising agencies and their requirements .

The manager also makes various unexplained assumptions about the attracting the viewer and not losing the revenue generated from the advertisement agencies. If he would have mentioned the overall feedback of the viewers and their preference related to the time allocation the assumptions would be more stronger.