A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specfic circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In Western societies, official education until the end of high school is fairly standardized, save for the different "levels" one can be in. In Canada, this is often divided into "academic," for those who wish to go to university; "applied," for those who wish to go to college; and "locally developed," usually for those who will not go onto pursuing a secondary education at all. These three levels effectively represent three different streams in high school which allows a student to develop skills specifically for the future that most likely awaits them. This system of education seems to work, and while the issue statement undoubtedly has good intentions when it suggested for all students to study the same curriculum prior to college, the benefits of specialized and focused education will likely outweigh a completely standardized education in most instances.

To understand why specialized education can be more beneficial, we must first look at the careers available in our society. The wide choice of careers that an individual can pursue necessitates an equally large and diverse set skills and knowledge. In order to be a doctor, one is required to enter into competitive pre-medical programs with a long and specific list of pre-requisites from high school, such as biology, chemistry, physics, and mathematics, all at an academic level. Even with an extremely academically vigorous high school curriculum, much less than 25% of the students in Canadian medical programs go on to become doctors. So while having the rigorous high school curriculum was absolutely necessary to even have the opportunity to go on the path of becoming a doctor, some would say the curriculum is not enough, and perhaps would advocate an even more stringent high school program for aspiring doctors.

On the other hand, another student who wishes to take over their family farm will benefit from an extremely different formal education system in high school. The skills of a business owner - especially one who manages farmland - tends to be much more hands on. A more desirable curriculum for this individual would include entrepreneurship, basic accounting, and workshop. An aspiring farmer has no need to learn university level calculus or memorize the periodic table in chemistry class, because those skills are not useful for his or her day-to-day job later on. The above are descriptions of merely two paths who require very different education; in reality, there are innumerable career opportunities all requiring unique skills, skills that are best developed as early as possible. Due to the sheer size of the curriculum that could be taught to high school students, and the impossibility of teaching all students all subjects, it is more often than not to tailor the education to a student's interest and aspirations as opposed to adopting a national standard.

Of course, there are instances where adopting the same national curriculum can be very beneficial. It can be argued that pre-college students are not entirely fit to choose their own path yet, even in a broad sense, because they have not been exposed to enough experiences to make an informed decision. The education system is implemented in order for students to broaden their horizons beyond what they immediately understand about the world through their family. A student who decides to pursue a career in medicine early on may have realized that they would much rather become a writer or journalist if a specific English literature class captured their imagination. An unstandardized education denies the student that opportunity if the system allows the students to choose only the sciences as their class.

Thus, a middle ground is usually stricken between those who advocate for complete standardization of elementary and high school education, and those who wish for the future generation to be gaining necessary skill sets for their career as early as possible. In Canada, there is a set of standardized curriculum since the beginning of high school, but this set of courses gradually shrinks as a student becomes a sophomore, junior, and senior in high school. As the student learns more, they have more freedom to choose their elective courses.