A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement argues that a nation should offer a standardized curriculum across areas before students enter the college. I strongly disagree with the argument because it oversimplifies the educational contexts.

First, students may possess different cognitive capacities across different regions. Developmental psychologists such as Piaget discovered that there may be a universal cognitive developmental pattern from concrete thinking toward abstract and possibility thinking. But later researchers found out that there are individual differences in cognitive development, which can be largely influenced by environmental factors such as the school environment, teacher's interaction and peer relationships. Thus, the learning abilities of students may vary across different regions as a result of educational inequality and developmental differences. For example, children from Beijing present higher abilities in communication skills and reading abilities comparing to children from a rural village in China because they have more opportunities in participating reading activities and speech contests as result of rich educational resources. If a nation is going to design a standardized curriculum, the first question is that for whom the curriculum should be designed and tested. Different samples may yield different curriculum design. It is hard to design a curriculum that fits all.

Second, the standardized curriculum may hamper diversity of the society. Students have different interests influenced by their developmental contexts and previous experiences. Imagine that a nation implements a standardized curriculum before college, it is expected that students may be likely to choose similar majors when they enter college as a result of standardization. If a student may be fond of music, he may not be able to pursue a career as a musician because he spends most of his time on the national curriculum and his interest in music cannot be further nurtured. What's more, a required curriculum cross K-12 may not even foster the possibilities of interests as students undergo the same learning experiences since young.

Standardization do have advantages. It is convenient to compare students based on their performance on the same curriculum. It may create a seemingly "equal" competition for students from different backgrounds. But the problem here is that the competition is not equal at the beginning. One possible solution is that students may have both the mandatory courses and selective courses. While mandatory courses may be used to ensure that students share the common bases of knowledge and skills, selective courses may be used to supplement the missing part of mandatory courses according to various cognitive abilities of students and fulfill their potential based on their diverse interests.