a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum before college; write a response discussing the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement and provide reasoning for which position you picked.

I strongly agree with the recommendation that a country should have a set base of curriculum requirements that all students should study prior to entering university. Prior to attending college in pursuit of post-secondary education, it is crucial that all students are held to the same standards and have a basic understanding of fundamental subjects. Upholding a national curriculum that is applied to all students before they enter college ensures that all students come in with a general knowledge of the same topics, and establishes a common baseline to build on.

An example that supports this position is the importance of having the knowledge of what students coming in to college courses have learned in their past educational careers in order to set up the college course curriculums themselves. Without a required general curriculum that all students should follow before entering university, it would be an extreme challenge for professors to teach an entire class of students without having the knowledge of what each individual has been exposed to prior to taking a certain course. A national curriculum applied to students before they attend university allows for college courses to be organized and set up in a way that focuses on further developing the students' knowledge of that particular subject, a task that would otherwise be incredibly difficult to do without an established baseline of what the students have been exposed to in their past education.

A second example that supports this position is the fact that college learning is not solely based on developing knowledge in a certain subject, but also learning how to work in a group setting and collaborate on the topics at hand. A national curriculum applied to students prior to their college career allows for all individuals to enter with a common basic understanding of the subjects covered prior to entering university where individuals are expected to expand their knowledge on such subjects, often by working with one another. College students engaging in collaborative group work and learning among their peers without having a common core of knowledge would be much less successful without a national curriculum prior to university.

A set of national requirements in a nation prior to college education promises a prosperous and beneficial setting for college students to come together and collaborate in order to further their knowledge in a certain subject, along with allowing colleges and the professors to format courses in a way that is accessible to all incoming students.