A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

As Albert Einstein rightfully said, "You cannot expect a fish to climb a tree", the same way, you cannot expect every student to have proficiency in same subjects. A majority of students are dealing with depression due to the expectations society has of them. Society, as it is, gives the student a lot of norms and regulations to follow and top of it all also expects them to be equally smart.

A majority of people in entertainment business have majored in a technical field, which denotes how, even people who have no need for technical knowledge, had to study in order to satisfy the social expectations. These are the same people, which when asked, wouldn't necessarily remember what they were taught. Which tells us one thing; teaching the students the same curriculum may not always make them knowledgeable about the topic. Personal interest is a major criteria in one's intelligence.

Having said that, knowledge about the basic things; such as basic algebra, geography or even social science is helpful in the future. One will not always carry a calculator or a compass even with this evolving technology. In such situations, knowledge will always help. The biology which is taught in high school, may actually save someone's life. Giving the example of the fish and the tree may seem smart at first, but upon closer inspection, you see its faults. It is comparing two completely different species. Every fish has to learn how to swim and every monkey has to learn how to climb in order to survive. Similarly, every human must have basic knowledge to survive.

It is fair to conclude that not every child is same, but in order to get by in life, they must be equipped to deal with various issues they face in life. Opting out of same curriculum is as same as chopping off a bird's wings