Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I partially agree to the given recommendation because I find the decision to implement the recommendation by a nation's government is completely dependent upon the statistics of two major factors which are the percentage of hungry citizens in the nation and number of citizens unemployed especially if they are below poverty line. A government should know the inter-dependency of these two factors so that they can compensate for the need for the other one.

It is meaningless for a responsible government to spend its funds to purchase historical artifacts, paintings, sculptures, etcetera when there are citizens who do not get a bread to satisfy their hunger. The nation's development in building its national treasure is of no use if there are still significant citizens below the poverty line. Similarly, the government should first seek to make more and better job opportunities especially for the citizens who live below poverty line and also for the youth of the nation who are unemployed. Giving jobs to youth population of the nation is the best way to increase the nation's economy and its value in the world.

In opposition to the above-stated points, developing a national treasure owned by the government is also important for the nation to preserve its culture and ethics. But purchasing a painting for hundreds of millions of dollars when there are people who are homeless and do not any access to basic needs is worthless. Eventually, the nation will be segregated into two extremes of people belonging in rich class and in the poor class.

Imagine a time when a natural disaster or a recession in an economy or a calamity is on the verge to completely destabilize a nation, government at that time must give its priority for the wellness of its citizens rather than preserving its treasure of arts. At an extreme level, it should also consider a way to stabilize the situation by auctioning it's art gallery to other nations because arts lost can be earned by making more funds but valuable citizens lost due to no access for food would be a loss forever.

Therefore, the recommendation of funding the arts by a responsible government must be considered by taking into account various other factors and keeping its citizen's wellness first and topmost priority.