Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art and science are two pillars of the human’s intellectual evolutions since the history of mankind. From the Greeks to the Romans, the art is always a source of interest among the

people, and kings and queens. The prompt suggests that government should not fund arts when the large proportions of country's population is hungry and unemployed. I mostly disagree with the prompt and

will elaborate my position with three reasons.

The prompt suggests that if the government will not fund the arts, then the problems of poverty and unemployment will be solved more efficiently. However, in every country there is a big proportion of

the population working in the art sector, if the government stop the funding, then that would severely affect those which are employed in the art sector. For example, the movie industry is one of the

biggest industry in terms of the people it employed, if government suspends the funding to the art universities or institutions, it will severely affects the young students who want to join the movie

industry as an actor, director, or any other creative job. This also discourage people in joining these industries and thus, will create more problems than it is intended to solve.

The art industry is also responsible for major chunk of taxes that government makes, as these industries collect large revenues. If government cut the funding to arts then that inturn will affect the government itself. For example, movie industry, music industry, books, etc. are responsible for great revenues as these are the sources of entertainment for the masses. Thus, a considerable amount of money that these industries earns goes into the government treasure as taxes. If government do anything that harms the art industries, it will directly affect the government tax reserves.

In conclusion, there is no relation between the government suspending the funding for the arts and that helping in reducing the poverty and unemployment. Rather, doing so will affect the government more.

Some might argue that arts does not help a country grow as science does, and thus government should focus on those areas which helps in the developing the nation and help people to get employment. However,

the arts is responsible for developing the nation, though not directly but indirectly as it is responsible for propagating revolutionary ideas with paintings, novels, poetry, etc., and thus, is essential for

the country's development. Thus in my opinion government should not cut the funding to arts.