One can best understand the most important characteristics of a society by studying its major cities.

Societies are formed by a congregation of people who believe in the same norms and policies as other people. these people start living with each other at the definitive location for the longer period of time and economic and technical development can attract other people to be the part of that society and cities are formed. Thus cities do reflect the most common and prevailing characteristics of a society. however, Since the advent of feasible transportation facilities migration from one place to another has become common phenomena and it can be driven because of any reason such as better career prospects, better educational facilities for children etc. Therefore, it is now difficult to understand the most characteristics of a society by studying its major cities as these cities will not be a group of people following the same norms and culture or religion but it will be filled with people from different places of different ethnicities and following different religion living in harmony to fulfill their own personal interests. nevertheless if understanding the characteristics of a society, you are after than villages are the best bet as they are confined in their own world free from the influence of outer cities and of different people.

In the ancient times, major cities were political, cultural and economic

powerhouse of any society. Stralling through those cities would have given a good insight about the characteristics of a society that they were part of. however, continuous development of across the globe, now all the major cities are filled with people from varied regions and societies.

can a city of bangalore help in a true understanding of Indian society..? Answer to this would be "No" as it is an it hub of India. Modern-day tech entrepreneurs would love to settle in bangalore because of ample amount of opportunity and environment it provides to start your business and develop it further. because of these reasons, when you will be passing from a city of bangalore you will notice lots of people from different regions of the world coming together and celebrating different festivals. nevertheless, when you visit the town near bangalore which is Vellor you will start experiencing a cultural unanimity in people, infrastructure and their behavior of different things.

major excavation in the region of Pakistan we have found the remains of ancients Indus valley civilization in Mohenjodara and Harapa. study of this cities gives us a great amount of evidence which will help us to understand the characteristics of a society. As people living here would have born and brought up there influenced by its norms and reflects society religiously.

In summary, it is true that the study of major cities of society can help in understanding its most important characteristics. however, this may not be true to its core in this modern ever-changing world where characteristics of a society are probably limited to rural areas of the society.