"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

In the paragraph author tries to convey that Firstborn of rhesus monkey have higher level of stimulation due to increased transfer of hormone cortisol at the time of their birth from their mothers as at the time of first pregnancy they had higher levels of cortisols. Author also implies that hormone cortisol is the main reason for the increased level of stimulation in the humans and rhesus monkeys both as it increases activity level. But, author doesn’t clearly state what effects does it have on the behaviour of the individual which can be compared to makeup some definitive conclusion which can substantiate the argument.

On the other note, Author take a stance on the argument on the basis of only one similarity between humans and monkeys that firstborn of both species have higher hormone cortisol than their younger siblings. However, argument corroborating this similarity is vague as they compare very two different stimulating situation such as for infant monkeys which is encounter with unfamiliar monkey and for human infants it is return of a parent after an absence, both the scenarios are relatively different and can produce different level of stimulation. Nevertheless, this similarity does confirms that in both the cases they were stimulated for different reasons and if explored further with different situation author would be able to find more evidence for this behavior.

In the last statement, Author also states one other reason which can support the starting premise of higher level of hormone cortisol in first born as in the rhesus monkeys mother having their first pregnancy has an increase level of cortisol who had several offsprings. This does confirms the possibility of higher level of hormone cortisol in monkeys but doesn’t offer any compelling reason for the same in human firstborn.

Thus, Argument fails to provide compelling evidence for increase hormone cortisol in human first borns and doesn’t provide clear explanation on how does the hormone cortisol induces stimulation in humans and monkeys both.