Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness.

One can enjoy the good only after he has known the bad. We have heard variations of this phrase throughout our lives. But what does it really mean? Have you tried to think about it? The message this phrase gives is that only after you have survived the biggest losses, be it financial, emotional or wellness, you can really appreciate the gains. Even the smallest of things can bring you tremendous joy.

Let's take the first example of a friend of mine. He suffered from partial paralysis during the junior year, and the school year had barely started. Before going through that trauma, he had a carefree attitude. Only studied when he wanted, which led to his grades were poor. He felt like he had many friends, being popular can bring that illusion. Basically, he behaved like an entitled brat. During the recovery, when he really needed support from his friends, only a few showed up. That coupled with the trauma led him to depression. But what he didn’t realize was that those who showed up for him really cared for him. After some time when he realized this, he was really moved. When the recovery completed, he was a changed man. He was always the most optimistic person. He motivated us when the rest of us were down. To cap it all off, the title of "most cheery" person was given to him at the graduation. Only after facing sadness in the form of illness and desertion he was able to isolate the things which brought him joy.

Conversely, when someone experiences the birth of their first child. It does not matter if they have been through hard times or not. This memory will always be associated with pure pleasure. Events like this, where we are aware will never be repeated, bring out the purest of emotion be it positive or negative. Similarly, marriage, the first job, these situations will always be the most cherished, and one can always count on them to fill you with calmness when remembered in the worst situations.

After knowing real sadness one can fill happiness in the smallest moments, but the grandest moments will always leave their mark. Thus, to conclude, I would rectify the original statement. I will re-frame it as, "One who can identify the moments of happiness are the only ones that can really appreciate their value."