I agree with that one can feel true happiness if he has suffered some kind of sadness. A person should have multiple experiences to determine the proper value of any thing. In case of feeling person should experience all kinds of emotions then only he will understand the true value of happiness.

For understanding this claim we can consider reverse example of Gautam Buddha. Gautam was son of affluance and strong King. He never felt any kind of sorrowness in his childhood. He lived in very good ambience and lived a life like true prince. He never saw grief till his teenage life but in the later stage of life he first encountered with ceromony of funeral of his close friend and suddenly first time in his life he experinced sadness and grief. so after this shock he became different person and founded new religion. this happened beacuse he experienced many emotions and feeling his life and then only he understood true meaning of happiness.

We can also experience the true happines in eating tasty food only after eating insipid food. In my childhood days I used to go to restarunt on very few occasions only as compare to my current lifestyle in which I visits the restarunts every another day. But I enjoyed eating food in restarunt in my childhood because at that time my home servant used to cook very tasteless food. So I feels that If you want to feel true happiness in any activity you should expirience the negative side as well.

In countries like India, People are feeling true happiness of indipendence than United Kingdom or any other nation who doesn't have independece day. because people in India struggled for independnce for their country thats why they are enjoying it very well on the other hand UK people never fought for independence thus they will never understand true feeling for expiriencing independence.

In Summary, I would like to restate that any person can feel the true gravity of happiness only after feeling the sadness whereas people who are experiencing only happiness moments will not enjoy it properly.