In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

The author recommends to hire more experinced journalists and fire younger, less experinced reporters to increase the readership. This recommendation is mostly based on two surveys done with gap of three years. Before considering the recommendation few questions have to be answered. Was survey conducted by reliable source? Was sample space considered for both surveys same? was population of the city constant in three years? Even if survey is accepted to be valid, proof is required to assert that younger reporters didn't have any part in the success.

First, author mentions about surveys, in order for the survey to be accurate sample space has to selected scientifically. Second survey which was done after three years should have sample space very similar to first one. Else, most of the people in the first survey may not be liking the contents whereas, large majority of people in the second group were liking the contents. This results in biased survey outcomes and one cannot conclude the good ratings are really because of improved content quality based on the survey.

Secondly, author states 13% increase in the subscribers. This may be just due to increase in population group which reads newspaper. Three years ago there might have been a big population chunk say between age 12 to 15, this chunk would be between age 15 to 18 after three years. If mjority of these people subscribe to newspaper irrespective of contents, 13% increase cannot be genuinely due to increased quality of writing.

Author totally disregards the work of young reporters. Even if we consider young reporter's content to be subpar, there is a chance that they would have come up with atleast one unprecedented story which, gave huge publicity to the newspaper. This might have contributed to increased subscribers base.

Inorder to implement the recommendation, managing editor of the newspaper has to find correct answers to the questions discussed above and evaluate each outcome carefully to make the decision.