In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

As the famous phrase says, “ Art is subjective”, to create a piece of art which is applauded by everyone is a great feat to achieve as not every individual possesses the same taste in art. The prompt suggests that in order for any art to have merit it must be understandable to most people. I strongly agree to this suggestion due to two main reasons.

Firstly, one must understand the history and culture behind any piece of art to acknowledge its beauty and its value. For example, a said art piece in an art gallery costs a fortune, a person with no knowledge about the history behind the creation of that art would simply disregard its worth and smear on it for having such a huge tag on it,whereas only an individual with vast knowledge will be able to adore that piece of art and justify its value.

Further, if one cant relate themselves with the art or if the art is comprehendible only to a selective few,it simply wouldn’t be successful,this is mainly true for commercial art. For example, a movie called Inception was stated by IMDB to have one of the most complex plotline, if one can unfold it,that’s when it shines the most, but unfortunately not many were able to deduce the plot and made it an incomprehensible movie and hence lead it to become a flop.

Finally, there could be an argument saying, that a person need to explore various art forms to widen his or her horizon or to gain new knowledge. However, it is not possible for any artform to be amusing at get go, it might take some time to develop the taste for it and this process could take months or years which might make the person disregard it. Hence, wI would say that for any art form to be successful or hold merit it must be lucid to most people, else, it would just be a medium of entertainment only for selected few.