In order for any work of art - for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song - to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Author stresses to have merit the art must be understandable to most people, to which I do not completely agree. Although there might be some credibility to the postulate, I do not abide by it completely.

Firstly, having merit is subjective. It is almost impossible to have a merit score of a art. The art might be dealing with some of the orthodox opinions which might degrade the merit. This does not necessarily mean that the art wasn't of any merit. It could potentially be just that most people had hard time understanding the orthodox opinion that the artist has that conflicts with their own opinions. Therefore, the arts merit is just not defined by how people take it.

People have different tastes and predilections which might affect their judgement of a piece of art. Given the number of different opinions people have, its very unlikely for the artist to make majority of people understand. Lets suppose for example, art that uses a new style of painting, these paintings are unique and display the contemporary nature of todays world. There would definitely be individuals who appreciate the innovative form of art but does it comprise of the majority of art lovers ? Mostly not. Considering another example of movies, a movie with perfect acting, good direction, impeccable editing, apt setting but with not so enticing storyline. Most people would criticise the movie as it didn't have good storyline, while the keen observers could applaud the other immaculate aspects of the movie, that is worth the merit.

Moreover, there is a timeline of art. An art could be overly popular in 20th century because of the changes it brought to the complete industry and thus hold merit. At the same time this art could loose its potential merit in 21st century where we see just the art and not its history and the changes it brought with it. Consider for example, the music industry, in early stages of this industry the musicians used simple music tones and soothing melodies. But then the industry was overturned by innovative musicians who mixed and matched different tempos to create austere music. Now these musician and there music might not hold much merit as it wasnt as per most peoples predilection but would speak much about the transition. The way it transformed the current music industry and tastes hold much more importance than it did at the time it was launched. Thus, the time at which the art was created matters a lot.

Furthermore, some of these artforms are open ended, they do not just reflect the artists view but also tries to play with viewers imagination. This open endedness has nothing to do with true understanding of the art but more about how relatable it is to a person. An art could be understood differently to different person and that makes the art speak to majority of individual without circumscribing them to a particular understand. Thus the relatability and personal interpretation of an art holds more credit over proper understanding of an artform.

The fact that art in any form hold immense potential to change peoples opinions, how they perceive and react, should not be overshadowed. These artforms expose the individuals to different opinions, making people ponder over their own opinions. They express stories of past and present that were hidden from plain sight, making it known to mankind. Now if these stories, opinions are cryptic and hidden, would make less of an impact on an individul. Thus it is very important that these messages are passed to people without much pondering on the artform.

Therefore, even tho easily understood artform holds power to change society, the merit of an artform cannot be solely decided over how understandable the artform is.