In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The controversial issue of whether it should be mandatory for college students to take courses outside their major field of study, especially regarding poetry, novels and more generally imaginative literature, is a topic worthy of debate. Indisputably, reading books is a key step in becoming a well-rounded student and individual, however the primary function of university is to prepare students for the job market. Hence, I generally disagree with the claim because a well-rounded knowledge is a task that should be carried out by students themselves.

The first main reason which leads me to reject the above recommendation is that the introduction of it will hinder the primary function of university. University is a key step in the formation of any individual and student decides in which field to pursue their bachelor or master’s degree because they want to be hired in a specific sector. If the above recommendation is in place, students will have lower time to dedicate to the study of the core subjects which then ensures them to find a job. Indeed, an economics student needs to take the core courses in mathematics, statistics, macroeconomics and microeconomics in order to be well-prepared for the job market. If the student needs also to spend time studying English literature because it is required to read novels and poetry, this will likely reduce the time dedicated to the core subjects.

Moreover, the drawbacks can also be a lower level of motivation for students and an increase in the money spent for college. To expand on the previous example, if it is mandatory for an economics student to attend a course in English literature, this will, in turn, reduce its motivation because the student will be stressed by studying a subject that has no practical implication for his or her life. A low level of motivation will have a negative impact also on the dedication that the student puts on the core subjects. In addition, one consequence could be the increase in the time needed to graduate and thus more money spent for college tuition.

The recommendation mentions specifically that in order to become a more well-rounded individuals, all students should take courses which involve imaginative literature. Thus, the recommendation is based on the implicit assumption that this can be achieved by reading poetry and novels. Nonetheless, there is no reason why reading poetry should make us wiser than studying more mathematics or physics. However, it is certainly true that if college students are required to take courses which are someway linked to their major fields this can bolster their overall knowledge and increase their likelihood to be hired at the same time. For instance, labor psychology should be mandatory for business students: future managers must be able to both conduct business but also to manage the human capital of the firm.

In conclusion, I generally disagree with the above recommendation because it will hinder the primary function of the university system: to train students with advanced and specific knowledge in certain areas so that they can be hired where they like the most. Moreover, there is no reason why students should have a deeper knowledge in imaginative literature and not in other fields.