In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

College education is very limited for the overall development of individual; the subjects are very specific and they prepare us for a particular field. In the process we are missing many vital part that education should have bestowed upon us which can be fulfilled by studying other courses- poetry, novels, mythology- in addition to our main line of study.

Firstly, novel, mythology and poetry are attached to our root; they form our identity and studying these subjects can help us in discerning that identity. I follow Hindu religion, for instance, and my course of study in college never contains anything that makes me familiar with my religion, about how should I observe the festivals and what are my duties to protect my culture. Without these knowledge me and my family’s identity is blurring in every next generation. What my grandfather knows about my culture is rarely known to me and will be known lesser by my descendants. So, reading poetry, mythology and other imaginative literature helps in forming our identity and preserving it for a long time.

Similarly, our main line of study is too steadfast; it is not liberal; it is based on facts to which we must have to comply with. Rarely can we raise doubts on the facts that are taught to us and fact-learning is daunting, boring and never catalyzes creative thinking. Subjects like mythology, novels and poetry are, however, very flexible and we can have our own interpretation of them, that can make us very imaginative, creative and also spurs critical thinking. Roting mathematical formulas obviously doesn’t benefit as much as viewing an art and interpreting it from our own point of view.

In the same way, modern education is burdensome task, rather than liberating people with knowledge, it fills one with facts and complexities that are sometimes even difficult to apprehend. In such circumstances subjective line of study such as novel and art can be a haven to rest our mind and study the things we want; in the way we want. Reading a novel, after a hectic day at college, for instance, is very pleasing for me; it provides me a sense of relief and entertainment as well.

So, while college education can be a tool to prepare ourselves to be sold in job market , reading novel, mythology and arts can be helpful in discerning our identity, reducing our stress and nonetheless, a very profound source of pleasure.