Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals are acts that are deemed immoral (even illegal) by society, and that often sparks public outrage. Though reformer and speaker can instigate certain transformation, scandals does the same thing in a short period of time and more effectively. They grab public attention firmly and call for an urgent action.

Scandals, when they come out in public, represent a particular case that reflects immorality existing in a society as a whole. Unlike reformers and speakers who only point out certain problem that exist in society, scandals brings out a tangible evidence of that problem; this evidence sparks a sense of urgency (to act) in the society. There were several reformers and speakers in the past, for example, who had voiced against sexual violence. But, the movement only took the heat when salacious acts of Harvey Weinstein, a Hollywood tycoon, came into pubic; this scandal was the instigator of “me-too” movement. This scandal-driven movement became a particular platform for women to share their experience with violence, which in turn became a major warning to the perpetrator of such acts.

Similarly, scandals also have a wider coverage than the works of any reformer or speaker, making it effective means to bring about changes. Though speaker or reformer donate much time and effort to bring reforms, their work (in most of the cases) doesn’t grab wide public attention until some major incident (scandal) representing the problem comes out in public. Corruption, for example has become a major problem in majority of low-income, developing countries, and many reformers and speakers have voiced against this crime. But, this anti-corruption movement takes heat only when some major political leaders are held guilty for carrying out these underhanded activities. In Pakistan, for example, anti-corruption movement was initiated recently after Sahid Abbas, former prime minister, was held guilty for corruption during his tenure. This has made a global news, and has become a strong warning against such acts to the leaders world wide.

In the same way, scandals involve people who are well-known to everyone, and even considered as an ideal of society. So, when people find their ideals involved in immoral acts, they easily get infuriated, and this drives public outrage. This feeling of outrage catalyzes people to move against that immoral act vehemently, rather than a lecture or speech given by any reformist or speaker.

Finally, though we can never undermine the contributions made by reformists and speaker to bring about changes in society, scandals, with its intensity, wide public coverage and energy, is more effective in instigating changes than reformists or speaker.