Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

To base this change on the assumtion that local buisnesses pulled their advertising contracts and complacent calls from angry viewers would be a mistake. Late night news channels cover a variety of news topics including local news, oncoming weather, and national headlining news stories.

Viewers who take the time to call into a news station to give feed back are statistically going to be angry and have something they want to change. People who enjoy watching the late night news stations with national coverage, as yours does, do not take the time or want to expend their energy on calling the news station to provide positive feedback. If you would like statistically sound research you must conduct a local servey through the mail, email, or phone. THis would give more pf an accurate depiction of who watches the station, who enjoys watching, and who thinks it should be changed. All of these dependent variables need to be known in order for the study to be accurate.

Local buisnesses pulling and canceling their contracts may or may not have to do with the content of the program. It could have more to do with their financial soundness, their ability to produce quality advertizing, or where their finacial department thinks they money should be spent. A way to find out why they pulled out of their contracts is to communicate with them. Call the company and ask the person who is in charge of marketing or the financials to find out if the reason they cancelled their contract really because of the content of the show or for another reason.

Changing the content of the show from more of a national news headliner news station to more of a local and weather based news station may have no effect on viewers. There are a plethora of veriable that go into wherther or not people watch a certian television program. Since this is a late night news channel, maybe the show is run too late at night for there to be an abundance of viewers becasue most people are sleeping, maybe there are other programs on that are more popular, and lastley there could be more people than not that do not know this specific news channel runs on the channel it does and the time you air.