over the past year , our late night news programs has devoted increase time to national news and less time to weather and local news. during this time period, most of the complains received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. in addition , local business that use to advertise during our late night news programs have just cancelled there advertising contracts with us. therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues , we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level

The author's arugent about how reducing the time of local and weather news has decreased their revenue and the solution to this problem is by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is fundamentally flawed as it relies on some flawed addumptions which are

Firstly the author talks about complaints from viewers abiut their coverage of local and weather news but fails to provide a certain detail about the number of viewers i.e do these viewers who are registerening complains amount for the majority and if not than their complains and views can not be made a major criteria for the change in timings. The author could have stated that x % of the viers i.e maybe 60%,70% etc have complained or the majority are unsatisfied with the coverage.

Secondly the auther fails to state whether viewers are unhappy about the coverage or the timimgs because maybe the time given to the local and weather news is appropriate but the information delivered by the news channel does not cover all the happenings in the local town and is only aboult the small and less important events.

Moreover the author states that local business that used to advertise with the news channel have canceled their contracts with them but he fails to provide a proper premise that whether this is due to reduction in time or any other reason such as loss to he local business or the ineffectivity of advertising at late-night news program. To strenthen this agrument the author coul have given a survey report from the local businesses stating major reason for cancellation is reduction in time.

Hence due to these flawed assumption- wheather the viewers complaining account for the majority of the viewers and are they unhappy with the coverage or the amount of time devoted and also that is reduction in time the only sole reason for cancelling of contracts by the advertisers we can state that the author's conclusion of increasing time devoted to local and weathers news is flawed.