Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author here is concerned with the loss of revenue and viewers along with complaints regarding the allocation of time for the national news and due to this factor the decision has been made to revert back to the local and weather report with the view to gain back the profit and the viewers. However, the claim from the author cannot be justified because he has simply co-related the events and assumed that what was beneficial previously would still be so which is not backed with any evidences. Similarly the argument has lot of loopholes and the incomplete evidences and wrong assumptions seriously compromise the conclusion to gain by reverting back to previous programmes.

The author has stated that the time allocated for the local news and weather reporting were cut and lengthened the national news but nowhere there is a reasoning why? Afterall what could be the possible reasons for doing so. We can simulate many scenarios: one could be the pressure from nation to do so. If such is the case can they simply overlook the nations call and do what the author thinks would be beneficial to them. The author must back his reasons to do so and then only he can be validated.

There is a statement of having complaints about the coverage of the local news and weather reporting but again he fails to mention where are the complaints coming from in what numbers and by what age group. what if the complaints are quite few in between, from the people who do not often watch tv. In such scenario heeding to such complaints and doing what they want may not prove beneficial. If the author has quite profounding number of complaints wanting the old programme back for more amount of times and from the people who are regular viewers, only then the authors decision to go back would no go in vain.

Along with dealing with complaints another important thing for any tv programme is advertising. The author gives a statement that there has been cancelation in the advertising contract again why? we have no idea. It may be due to plummeting reputation of the tv channel. If the reason is such no matter what programme you bring back the progress is minimal. If the author brainstorms us with enough backing that the advertisers are certain to agree if they increase the time of local and weather reports then only his point would be worth mentioning and reasonable.

At last one major fallacy is correlating the past and the future events. There are many variables that have an effect on the scene. He suppose all other factors will not matter and what is beneficial in the past would be a hit again in the present time. He fails to convince us by giving us the foregrounds. He might do so by giving some hard proof that all other factors are still the same and in fact other events has been successful, then only he can validate his point..

In the nutshell. it seems obvious that what was a success in past will be now. However, due to various reasons and variables that is not the result. But on the positive side, if the author do some research on what was the shortcoming before and what might be the possible solutions that can be implemented. The decision is worth a shot and might become a success putting aside all the troubles and pebbles in the way.