As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the era of enhanced technology, most of the people are of opinion that dependence of individuals on technological gadgets to solve their difficulties will have detrimental effects on their mental abilities. However, there is also a group of people who believe that technology gives more time to think over harder problems by reducing the time required to solve insignificant issues. I disagree with the author's viewpoint to a great extent. My proclivity towards the same will be explained in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the primary reason why I am not convinced with the author’s opinion is that the gadgets do not have their own intelligence. It is the intelligence of the software developer who creates them which helps the appliance in performing its own function. These devices just aid programmers to collect the data for formulating the algorithm to understand people's needs and problems faced by them. It is then up to the software developer to use this data to create an application which will improve user experience. The best example one can think of is of computer programs like Matlab that help programmers to stimulate data for getting output of different algorithms, but it is up to the engineer to formulate a mathematical model using the data he has obtained and the understanding that he has of his subject.

The secondary reason why I disagree with author’s standpoint is the fact that technological appliances have made it possible for the humans to spend their time for thinking about important matters by relieving them from trivial things. For instance, computers and calculators have made calculations faster and efficient and have helped people to solve problems in their respective fields. The doctors are able to perform advanced diagnosis with the help of latest technological developments in the field of medical science. Scientists are able to spend more time on research as there are powerful computers that deal with complex calculations. These gadgets also are useful in military purposes as they help to calculate the time required for firing missiles with accuracy and precision.

On the other hand, the people who do not apply their own mental skills and rely completely on applications for purpose of getting their problems solved have detrimental effects on their thinking capabilities. For instance, as calculators are available these days, people have lost their ability to calculate. People do not prefer walking these days as automobiles such as car and bikes help them reach at any place quickly which has increased problems of obesity. Furthermore, the children these days spend more times playing games online and watching cartoons which have violent content and are easily influenced by them. With the advent of social media sites such as facebook, whatsapp, etc people spend more time on their phones and become less attached with their family. For such people, their cognitive ability is likely to deteriorate over a span of time.

Thus to conclude the discussion, I will like to say that there are both advantages and demerits of technology. People should apply their own thinking to differentiate between what is good or bad for their health. The use of technology should be just to aid a person achieve his objective, but complete dependence on it will reduce his mental capabilities to think and also deteriorate his health in a long run.