As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate (Pick a side and surport it)

The world has now become a global village as a result of the advancement in technology. Information is now at the finger tip of everyone with internet access. I strongly disagree with the statement that the ability of human to think for themselves will deteriorate. With the world at the fingertip, everything can be found by searching the internet. This will in turn lead to humans being apathy when in comes to thinking when they can just find it online.

In 2018, a final year student of a university in Nigeria was reprimanded reason because the project he presented to his department was found to be a duplicate of another person’s project from another year. It was reported that the student searched through the internet and found an already published work which he then edited and presented it as his own. With this instance, it shows that the human ability to think for themselves is deteriorating because with a search online the required information can be searched and found with little stress.

In the absence of technology, when students are given assignments, they have to first think about the direction and draft out a plan for their research before going to the library to get the resources needed. Nowadays, student just do a “copy and paste” of the assignment question on the internet and copy the result it brings out. Resources online which include google search engine, YouTube and so on have greatly influenced the people and because of the easily found information there, it has in turn reduced the rate at which people think for themselves.

The advancement of technology has greatly impacted the way people live and think for themselves. Humans now prefer to first know what the internet has to say about a topic than first thinking it through by themselves.