As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of
humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
There is no current proof that advancing technology will deteriorate the
ability of humans to think. On the contrary, advancements in technology had
advanced our vast knowledge in many fields, opening opportunities for further
understanding and achievement. For example, the problem of dibilitating
illnesses and diseases such as alzheimer’s disease is slowing being solved by
the technological advancements in stem cell research. The future ability of
growing new brain cells and the possibility to reverse the onset of alzheimer’s
is now becoming a reality. This shows our initiative as humans to better our
health demonstrates greater ability of humans to think.
One aspect where the ability of humans may initially be seen as an example
of deteriorating minds is the use of internet and cell phones. In the past humans
had to seek out information in many different enviroments and aspects of life.
Now humans can sit in a chair and type anything into a computer and get an
answer. Our reliance on this type of technology can be detrimental if not
regulated and regularily substituted for other information sources such as
human interactions and hands on learning. I think if humans understand that we
should not have such a reliance on computer technology, that we as a species
will advance further by utilizing the opportunity of computer technology as
well as the other sources of information outside of a computer. Supplementing
our knowledge with internet access is surely a way for technology to solve
problems while continually advancing the human race.