People s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole

It has always been an important part of psychology to determine what shapes or affects people’s attitudes. To my mind, both immediate situation or surroundings and society as a whole are great influencers determining the way we are going to react. However, I must admit that I mostly disagree with the speaker’s statement as I believe that the society around us is what influences us the most.

In my opinion, our personalities and, therefore, attitudes are indeed shaped by society around us. Throughout our lives, we are perceiving what we hear, see and feel and it leaves a mark on us. As a consequence, in general, we think of something as other people would do. A telling example here would be an attitude to the LGBT community. It has long been considered unacceptable and morally wrong. Nowadays, the majority of people still see it as something alien and unwelcome in our lives and it is hard to make them change their minds and see it from another perspective despite numerous parades, TV shows, and blogs dedicated to the popularization and growth of awareness about LGBT community. Therefore, immediate surroundings do not always affect our attitudes, sometimes it takes a lot of time until those surrounding become inherent in our society so that they can be accepted.

Moreover, it can be the case sometimes that even though a person thinks differently or wants to act in the opposite way, he or she simply cannot. The fear of being an outcast, being not understood by a society scares a lot of people, leading them to act and react to issues and events around them only in the way that is generally accepted in a community he or she is a part of.

Admittedly, sometimes an immediate situation plays a great role in how we perceive or evaluate an event. Under certain circumstances, what society normally considers violation or sin might turn out to be something completely different if all the facts are taken into account. For instance, there is a part in the laws of many countries dedicated to self-defense. That means, that if a person hurts or kills another human being while trying to protect himself from a dangerous situation that the latter is creating, then either this person will be claimed to be innocent or his sentence will be mitigated.

In the final analysis, the complexity of this issue must be noted. Both immediate situations and surroundings as well as a society shape people’s attitudes. In fact, it is highly difficult to choose only one factor and claim with all faith that this is the only right one. Therefore, even though I mostly disagree with the speaker and consider that society plays an important role in shaping our attitudes, I do not neglect the possibility of the interference of immediate situation into the attitude formation process.