People’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

According to the prompt, People’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making. Since human beings tend to care about other people’s opinion, they cannot easily do what they want. For example, if a teacher ask who has question in his class, and no one responds, you will not raise your question even if you have a question, because you might think you will bother other students or you are afraid that you will ask a stupid question. Thus, in my view, people are influenced by forces beyond their own making.

To begin with, people’s behavior is confined because of physical barriers. That is to say, people cannot do something beyond their physical limit. For example, human cannot run faster than leopards, lions, and deer. Additionally, people have to sleep regularly, and if they always deprive them of sleep, they will lose their health. Thus, nature has influence on human, and this influence confines our behavior.

Furthermore, people are suffered from social norms, so they cannot behave unlike other people who already adapt to society. A similar experience of mine can illustrate this point. At around 15-year-old, I loved animations, such as Fate Satay Night, Naruto, and One Piece, and sometimes I went to animation exhibition, but I did not allow my classmates to know my affection, because it might be considered weird in my classroom, where my classmates only like some Taiwanese dramas or NBA. In addition, when I was in high school, I did not like eating too much food, because I was really fat and I was afraid that my classmates might laugh at me and said that my gaining weight was because of my eating habits. Therefore, it is hard for people to do what they want because of social norms.

However, it might be argued that some people have aberrant behaviors, so their behavior is determined by themselves: some criminals kill people without any mercy. For instance, Jay Cheng, a dead Taiwanese criminal who was sentenced to death penalty, had killed a lot of people in MRT, and some people say his behavior is because he does not care about the laws and does not suffered from social pressure. Nevertheless, when looking at his background, we will know that it is his environment that create him. He grew up in domestic violence, and was always excluded by his classmates. As a result, he hates the whole society, and swears that he will kill people when he has ability.

In conclusion, physical limit confines what human can do, social norms affect people’s behavior, and even though some people can exhibit aberrant behavior, it does not mean that they are not affected by their environment. Thus, I agree with the prompt.