People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We commonly hear from parents that when their child makes mistakes, they argue by saying that their child was not of the bad type and he is under influence of someone. The prompt says that personality and characteristics of an individual is a result of his surrounding factor rather than his own. I mostly agree with the prompt in two ways. However, there are a few cases in which the nature of a person is his self-mentality.

Firstly, one of the major factors playing role in human behavior is religion. Religion has so deeply rooted in human mind that it directly influences a person way of thinking be the person a literate or illiterate. For example, a Christian person when in trouble remembers Jesus Christ. For him, Christ is almighty whereas Buddhist people worship Buddha. Of course, Buddhist respect Christ but they do never have that faith on him or put him in a position as kept by Christian people. This is all due to the mentality developed by the facts and opinion they hear since childhood and from their fellow relatives and friends.

Another factor that influences people is their family and friends. People not deliberately gets accustomed to the type of circle that surround them. For example, a child grown up in a wealthy family hates to eat from a street cart or van but a child of poor family who rarely gets to eat outside values the food of the street cart highly. Moreover, a child grown in serious family is naturally serious and gets disturbed by a slight deviation from habitual action. But, a child from a jovial family has that sense of humor and also neglects slight error during work. These characteristics are not developed by a person will but the by the situations where he is exposed.

Despite the environment surrounding a person the character he displays is a result of his self will and what he thinks is proper. For instance, there are a large number of children living in an orphanage. They commonly have same background of having lost their parents one way or other. These children are taught in a same school, given same moral principles by their warden, have common shelter and are usually exposed to similar conditions. But we can never expect them to be same. Some are kind whereas others are greedy. Some inclines themselves to good deeds and the other to the polarity. These characteristics of an individual is not by eternal forces but by his self-feelings and the action which he thinks is correct.

Thus, it can be inferred that the morality, wisdom and direction that a person wants to follow is an outcome primarily determined by the nature of circle that surrounds him but his own making also shares some factor of the characteristics he portrays.