People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What makes someone a good decision maker? In my humble opinion, a good decision maker can either be the one who always keeps the consequences of a deed in mind and be ready to face them or another one who is just listening to the voice of his or her heart. It would be a restricted and narrow minded supposition to claim that a good decision maker does not combine emotions with logic, on the other hand, I think what makes us a good decision maker is our ability to find the balance in between. Experts say that while women are more towards making emotion based decisions and men vice versa, however, this is just a sexist point of view. Any people can make either kind of decision, depends on the aftermath or the concept of the situation.

The author of the prompt says that a human being who is making emotion based decisions and then justifying them with cerebral qualities is doomed to be a bad decision maker. However, why is combining both qualities, presented to the humankind by omnipotent powers is disregarded? For instance, consider yourself being late to work and running in the streets in a frenzied state and you see a person in poor conditions, maybe a mendicant or a very old lady in need. You have to make a decision, would you help the person or would you rather prefer to rush to work?

An emotion based decision would be being helpful and being logical requires keeping the pace and proceeding as if nothing happened. Let's suppose that you listened to your heart and helped the mendicant or the old lady and was late for work. What would be the logical explanation of your decision? A logical explanation obliges one to do the math: "What would happen if you did not help?", versus "What happened since you helped?" For many of the people who really thought of helping the poor, what to write under the first would be such sentences like this: "I would be thinking about it during the day once or twice and it might occur to me during the next days." And the explanation of the latter is, just, being late to work. Here is a logical explanation of an emotion based decision: Even though the subject listened to her or his heart and made a decision that seemed worse on cerebral values, the aftermath of the deed on logical terms is actually be beneficial for them. The person achieves a peace of mind at the time and does not spend any more time dealing with the "What ifs" in his or her mind afterwards.

However, this might not hold true for each incident. Decisions made with following the feelings might also misdirect the subject. For example, helping someone who does not necessarily need your help solely and facing harsh consequences is not a desirable status to be in. For instance, let's suppose your friend needs some cash, however, he does not seem to be good at commercial jobs and continuously gets fired. What is more, he spends all the money he has on gambling and ends up with even more debt. Since you probably like your friend, your emotions -especially the pity- would lead you to helping him. However, after listening to your feelings, if you try to justify it with your logic, you would be facing the fact that you are a poor decision maker, as the author of the prompt asserts.

The history is full of good decisions and bad decisions and there is no straight line in between. For example, if the pilot of the fighter jet who landed the Big Fat the atomic bomb on Hiroshima decided that he cannot do it at the last minute, it would be an emotion based decision. While one part of the World would be cherishing and contratulating him on his moral decision, the other part would be demonizing him and he would probably be chastised by his superiors. This shows us that the justification of decisions actually depends on myriad of different factors. There is no such decision that can be justified according to one element.

As a result, dividing decisions into two categories as emotion or logic based and disabling people from combining both while decision making and doing the aftermath is not completely plausible. Human beings are creatures with many layers and the number of decisions they make cannot be dovetailed to one category or the other. A completely sentimental decision can be cherished by logical people or expostulated by the same group, on the other hand, any decision which is seemingly quite logical might actually be quite against cerebral values. A sentimental decision which is bad for you on paper would bring you peace of mind for the many days or maybe years following that particular day. Which is, after doing the math, showing that a sentimental decision can also be even more logical than the other.