Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Italian Thinker Antonio Gramsci states that the education of a human being is bifurcated. According to him, education starts in the social sphere, particularly, at home, with family and friends. Then, it continues at school, in military or in workplace. In this case, we can assume that the education of a human being continues as long as he or she ceases to exist. Also, by “education” he means is a non-academic one. Such a process turns a biological being into a social one.

Gramshi’s point of view, especially the idea that education starts at home, is widely acknowledged. However, we are living in the 21th century now. The children can barely spend time with their families. Parents are spending long hours at work and children are almost raised by professional baby-sitters. Also, compared to the previous years, children are starting to receive education at school at younger ages in many developed countries. In this case, we can say that the responsibility on the shoulders of schools in terms of non-academic education gets heavier. Thus, it is defendable that schools might be spending more effort to get children ready for life, after the academic one.

One good example for that is the “Village Institutes” in Turkey. These institutes were offering education mainly focused on parenthood, arts and crafts, farming alongside with maths, science and linguistics. It can be said that the academic and non-academic lectures were almost tantamount. These institutes were the places to go for the people who will be staying in their villages after graduation and these schools were enormously succesful for developing the rural areas.

Nevertheless, it should not be forgotten that a dentist or a construction sector worker, no matter what they want to be, every children should receive a degree of academic education. Everyone asks “How am I going to use algebra in life?” to their teachers at school. However, in case of an economic crisis, everyone should be able to think critically and deal with such issues with problem solving skills.

My argument in this case is that, the solution is establishing specialized institutes for every need. There should be schools focusing partly on non-academic topics, since we also need scrupulous tailors, succesful repairmen and detail-oriented blue-collar workers. However, we also need professors, teachers, doctors too. Private sector or governments might establish specialized academic schools and lead children who are interested in academic life to these institutes. Every children should be able to receive education according to his or her aspirations or talents.