People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement "People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers" might not always hold true.

There are many situations, where the decisions need to be taken based on logic only. For example, if one is surrounded by a group of robbers, instead of shouting in fear which would lead to much dangerous consequences. One should smartly think of a way to inform the police.

There are also many situations, where the decision needs to be taken based on emotions only. For example, in a family, there might be many circumstances where there is a possibility of misunderstandings, but instead of introspecting the situation by logic, if one believes in their feelings, then the trust or love would help avoid such misunderstandings.

However, there are many such situations also, where both logic and emotion are necessary. Both need to work synchronously. But I think making decisions solely based emotion and then justifying it logically has both pros and cons.

It is a pro when the emotions are genuine and right and when one believes the decision one took is right. The kind of justification one gives to the other person not only depends on the speaker but also on the listener. This is because, one can only understand ones emotions if they are in their shoes. So instead to explaining the emotional aspect, people tend to justify their actions logically.

But it is a con if the emotions are not right or dangerous. For example, if a person murders someone because his rage upon him, then justifying that action logically or emotionally still makes him a murderer.

Therefore, I conclude that not every decision should be taken by emotions. But no matter how hard one tries to use logic in every decision they make, there are some decisions which are taken by emotions. But if one takes every decision based on emotion, then the resulting consequences may make them poor decision makers.